National Monuments

The Antiquities Act of 1906 grants the President the authority to desginate national monments in order to protect "objects of historic or scentific interest." While most national monuments are established by the President, Congress has also occasionally established national monuments to protect natural or historic features. Since 1906, the President and Congress have created more than 100 national monuments. National monuments are currently managed by agencies including the National Park Serivce, Forest Serive, Fish and Wildlife Serivce, or the BLM.

What National Monuments are in Montana?

Montana is the home of two National Monuments: Pompeys Pillar and the Upper Missouri River Breaks National Monument.

Pompeys Pillar National Monument

Pompeys Pillar was proclaimed a national monument in January 2001. The Monument protects several significant cultural features including William Clark's signature etched in the sandstone walls of the Pillar; the only known on-site, physical remnant of the Lewis and Clark Trail.

Upper Missourie River Breaks National Monument

The Upper Missouri River Breaks National Monument was established in January 2001 by the President Proclamation. The Monument contains a spectacular array of biological. geological, and historical objects of interest. From Fort Benton downstream into the Charles M. Russell National Wildlife Refuge, the monument spans 149 miles of the Upper Missouri River, the adjacent Breaks country, and portions of Arrow Creek, Antelope Creek, and the Judith River.