BLM Logo
Montana State Office
Release Date: 10/13/09
Contacts: Mary Apple 406-896-5258    

BLM Implements Three-tier Organization

The Montana/Dakotas Bureau of Land Management (BLM) implemented a new three-tier organizational structure on September 27, 2009.

As part of a national BLM effort to develop consistent management structures across the country, BLM will be incorporating new district offices to provide coordination between several field offices.

The new district offices are (with district managers/field managers in parentheses):

Western Montana District (Rick Hotaling): includes the Dillon (Tim Bozorth), Butte (Rick Hotaling), and Missoula (Nancy Anderson) field offices.

Central Montana District (Stan Benes): includes the Lewistown Field Office (Willy Frank) and Upper Missouri River Breaks National Monument (Gary Slagel).

HiLine District (Mark Albers): includes the Great Falls Oil and Gas Field Office (Don Judice, acting) and the Havre (Stanley Jaynes), Malta (Rich Adams), and Glasgow (Casey Buechler) field offices.

Eastern Montana/Dakotas District (Elaine Raper): includes the Miles City (Debbie Johnson), North Dakota (Lonny Bagley), and South Dakota (Marian Atkins) field offices.

The Billings Field Office (Jim Sparks) is a stand-alone office and not part of a district.

“This change should be seamless to our customers,” said State Director Gene Terland.  “Public land permit holders, lessees, and users will continue to work with field offices as before.”

The BLM manages more than 245 million acres of public land, the most of any Federal agency. This land, known as the National System of Public Lands, is primarily located in 12 Western states, including Alaska. The BLM also administers 700 million acres of sub-surface mineral estate throughout the nation. The BLM's mission is to manage and conserve the public lands for the use and enjoyment of present and future generations under our mandate of multiple-use and sustained yield. In Fiscal Year 2013, the BLM generated $4.7 billion in receipts from public lands.

Montana State Office   5001 Southgate Drive      Billings, MT 59101   

Last updated: 06-28-2012