Montana/Dakotas News Release
Print Page

<<Back to 2008 News Releases

Date:  July 23, 2008
Contact: Karly Krausz (406) 538-1977

Stage I Fire Restrictions Ordered for Daniels and Sheridan Counties

Stage 1 fire restrictions will become effective Wednesday, July 23, 2008, at 12 p.m. for all state, private, and federal lands within Daniels and Sheridan counties in northeast Montana. 

These restrictions also include all lands within the Fort Peck Reservation in Roosevelt, Sheridan, Daniels and Valley counties. 

Roosevelt County still remains in Stage I fire restrictions, which went into effect on Tuesday, July 15, 2008.

These restrictions will remain in effect until rescinded or revoked.

Under Stage 1, the following acts are prohibited:
·         Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire or campfire, except within a developed recreation site, or improved site.
·         Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or building, a developed recreation site or while stopped in an area at least 3-feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable materials.
Exemptions to the above prohibitions are allowed for persons using a fire solely fueled by liquid petroleum or LPG; or for a federal, state, or local officer, or member of an organized law enforcement, rescue, or firefighting force in the performance of an official duty.

Fire danger in Daniels, Roosevelt, Sheridan counties is very high due to low fuel moisture levels and recent human-caused fires in the area. The public is asked to honor these restrictions to decrease the chance of human-caused fires and avoid resource and property damage. 

Anyone who causes a wildland fire intentionally or through negligence may be held accountable for damage and suppression costs.

For up-to-date fire restrictions information, please go to www.firerestrictions.org and click on the Lewistown Area link.

The Lewistown Area Restrictions Group coordinates fire restrictions on federal, state and private land in the Lewistown Restrictions Area, covering north-central and extreme northeastern Montana. The group includes representatives from the U.S. Forest Service; Bureau of Land Management; Bureau of Indian Affairs; Bureau of Reclamation; U.S Fish and Wildlife Service; U.S. Army Corp of Engineers; National Weather Service; Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation; Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks; and the counties of Hill, Blaine, Phillips, Valley, Daniels, Sheridan, Roosevelt, Chouteau, Judith Basin, Fergus, Petroleum, Wheatland and Golden Valley.

For more information, please contact the Bureau of Land Management at 406-538-1977; the Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation at 406-538-7789; or your local office of Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks or your local fire department or sheriff’s office.



Last updated: 06-28-2012