Montana/Dakotas News Release
Print Page

<<Back to 2008 News Releases

Date:  December 16, 2008
Contact: Mary Apple (406) 896-5258

              Secretary Kempthorne Announces New Appointments to 
BLM Montana Resource Advisory Councils 

Interior Secretary Dirk Kempthorne recently announced the appointment of 11 new and six reappointed members to Montana’s three citizen-based Resource Advisory Councils (RACs), which advise the Bureau of Land Management on public land issues.

“The BLM’s Resource Advisory Councils are excellent examples of a collaborative approach to public land management and conservation,” said Secretary Kempthorne. “I welcome our new and reappointed RAC members, commend them for their willingness to serve, and look forward to their counsel as we work together to improve the health and productivity of the public lands.”

The BLM’s RACs, composed of citizens chosen for their expertise in natural resource issues, help the Bureau carry out its stewardship of 258 million acres of public lands.  The Bureau, which manages more land than any other federal agency, has 24 RACs across the West, where most BLM-managed land is located. Each RAC consists of 12 to 15 members with an interest in public land management, such as ranchers, conservationists, outdoor recreationists, tribal officials, state and local government officials, academics, and others.

BLM Director Jim Caswell said, “RAC members come from a variety of backgrounds and bring a wide range of perspectives to each of our councils. This diversity results in a balanced outlook that the BLM needs for its mission, which is to manage the public lands for multiple uses.” 

The BLM, an agency of the Department of the Interior, is responsible for managing these various uses – such as outdoor recreation, livestock grazing, mineral development, and energy production – while conserving the land’s natural, historical, and cultural resources.

Below are the new and reappointed members and the interests they represent. 

Western Montana RAC
  • Karolin Jappe-Loendorf (off-highway vehicles) new
  • Russell Kipp (commercial recreation) new
  • Wayne Farley (dispersed recreation) new
  • Mitzi Rosillon (archaeologic/historic interests) reappointment
  • David Shulz (elected official) reappointment
  • Francis Auld (Native American tribes) reappointment 
Central Montana RAC (next meeting January 14-15, Malta)
  • Brian Gasvoda (grazing) new
  • Barbara Cole (grazing) reappointment
  • Thomas Carrels (archaeologic/historic interests) new
  • Pat Gunderson (state natural resources) reappointment
  • Ron Poertner (public-at-large) new 
Eastern Montana RAC 
  • Thomas Hohn (energy/minerals) new
  • Carl Siroky (off-highway vehicles) reappointment
  • Jerry Kaiser (environmental) new
  • Ernest Strum (environmental) new
  • Lance Kalfell (public-at-large) new
  • Shanara Spang-Gion (Native American tribes) new



Last updated: 06-28-2012