Montana/Dakotas News Release
Print Page

<<Back to 2007 News Releases

Date:  November 13, 2007
Contact: Mary Apple 406/896-5258
Secretary Kempthorne Announces New Appointments to
BLM Resource Advisory Councils
Interior Secretary Dirk Kempthorne recently announced the appointment of eight new and eight reappointed members to Montana’s three citizen-based Resource Advisory Councils (RACs), which advise the Bureau of Land Management on public land issues.
“The BLM’s Resource Advisory Councils are excellent examples of a collaborative approach to public land management and conservation,” said Secretary Kempthorne. “I welcome our new and reappointed RAC members, commend them for their willingness to serve, and look forward to their counsel as we work together to improve the health and productivity of the public lands.”
The BLM’s RACs, composed of citizens chosen for their expertise in natural resource issues, help the Bureau carry out its stewardship of 258 million acres of public lands.  The Bureau, which manages more land than any other federal agency, has 24 RACs across the West, where most BLM-managed land is located. Each RAC consists of 12 to 15 members with an interest in public land management, such as ranchers, conservationists, outdoor recreationists, tribal officials, state and local government officials, academics, and others.
BLM Director Jim Caswell said, “RAC members come from a variety of backgrounds and bring a wide range of perspectives to each of our councils. This diversity results in a balanced outlook that the BLM needs for its mission, which is to manage the public lands for multiple uses.” The BLM, an agency of the Department of the Interior, is responsible for managing these various uses – such as outdoor recreation, livestock grazing, mineral development, and energy production – while conserving the land’s natural, historical, and cultural resources.
Below are the new and reappointed members and the interests they represent. 
Western Montana RAC (next meeting November 28, 2007, in Butte)
Joyceann Thompson (off-highway vehicles) reappointment
John Kirkley (environmental) reappoinment
Michael Gibson (environmental) new
Sam Samson (public-at-large) new
Mack Long (state natural resources) new
Central Montana RAC (next meeting to be announced)
Terry Selph (commercial recreation) reappointment
Ron Moody (environmental) reappointment
Dan Teigen (environmental) new
Victoria Marquis (public-at-large) new
Clayton Vincent (public-at-large) new
Eastern Montana RAC (next meeting November 14, 2007, in Billings)
Larry Pilster (federal grazing) reappointment
Carl Siroky (off-highway vehicles) new
Gerald Reichert (environmental) reappointment
Bernard Rose (environmental) new
Ray Trumpower (public-at-large) reappointment
Kent Williams (academia) reappointment

Last updated: 06-28-2012