About BLM - About Eastern States - What We Do

About the BLM
The Bureau of Land Management (BLM) was established in 1946 through the consolidation of the General Land Office (created in 1812) and the U.S. Grazing Service (formed in 1934). The functions of the BLM are also addressed in the Federal Land Policy and Management Act of 1976 (FLPMA).

The BLM is responsible for carrying out a variety of programs for the management and conservation, of resources on 258 million surface acres, as well as 700 million acres of subsurface mineral estate, These public lands make up about 13 percent of the total land surface of the United States and more than 40 percent of all land managed by the Federal government.  

Most of the public lands are located in the Western United States, including Alaska, and are characterized predominantly by extensive grassland, forest, high mountain, arctic tundra, and desert landscapes. The BLM manages multiple resources and uses, including energy and minerals; timber; forage; recreation; wild horse and burro herds; fish and wildlife habitat; wilderness areas; and archaeological, paleontological, and historical sites. 

In addition to its minerals management responsibilities noted above, the BLM administers mineral leasing and oversees mineral operations on Federal mineral estate underlying other state, private, or Federally-administered land, and manages most mineral operations on Indian lands. 

The public lands provide significant economic benefits to the Nation and to states and counties where these lands are located. Revenues generated from public lands make BLM one of the top revenue-generating agencies in the Federal government. 

The Bureau administers about 57 million acres of commercial forests and woodlands through the Management of Lands and Resources and the Oregon and California Grant Lands appropriations. 

Under its multiple-use management mandate, the Bureau administers more than 18,000 grazing permits and leases and nearly 13 million authorized livestock animal unit months on 160 million acres of public rangeland. BLM manages rangelands and facilities for 57,000 wild horses and burros. The 258 million acres of public land administered by the BLM includes over 117,000 miles of fisheries habitat. 

The Bureau has an active program of soil and watershed management on 175 million acres in the lower 48 states and 86 million acres in Alaska. Practices such as revegetation, protective fencing, and water development are designed to conserve, enhance public land, including soil and watershed resources.   The BLM is also responsible for fire protection on public lands and on all Interior Department in Alaska, as well as for wilfire management on the public lands on the public lands in Alaska and the Western States.

The job of balancing this mix of resources and uses grows more complex each year, as the West’s population growth creates new pressures and heightens existing management challenges. With over 68.3 million people living in the region today, the West continues to be the fastest-growing area in the nation. This growth — and the urbanization that accompanies it — places new demands on BLM-managed land. 

Working with its partners at the local, state, and national levels, the BLM will ensure the health and productivity of the public lands for current and future generations.

About Eastern States

The Bureau of Land Management's Eastern States became an official State Office on April 8, 1980, with responsibilities for managing the public lands and resources in the 31 states that are contiguous and east of the Mississippi River. Through the leadership of its State Directors during our history, Eastern States has conducted its programs with a clear mission in mind - responsible stewardship of the public treasures entrusted to our care.

In the Eastern States, we manage for eight program areas: Cadastral Survey, General Land Office Records, Wild Horse and Burro Adoptions and Compliance, Energy and Minerals, Lands and Realty, Natural Resources, Wildland Fire Management, and National Conservation Lands.

The Eastern States organization includes the State Office in Washington, D.C., two District Offices, and the Division of Solid Minerals, Rolla, Missouri. The Lower Potomac Field Station is located in northern Virginia, and several smaller project offices are located throughout the eastern United States.

The Northeastern States District, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, is responsible for 20 northern states: Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New York, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. It also includes the Division of Solid Minerals  office located in Rolla, Missouri. The Lower Potomac River Field Station manages acquired lands in the greater national capital metropolitan area, which include the Meadowood Special Recreation Management Area, and Douglas Point, Maryland.

The Southeastern States District, Jackson, Mississippi, is responsible for 11 southern states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia.