Rio Grande Commission Members

The membership of the Rio Grande Natural Area Commission is established in section (4)(c) of the Rio Grande Natural Area Act.  The Commission elects a chairperson and vice-chairperson on an annual basis.  The following is a list of the current Commission members:


Ruth WelchBLM Colorado State Director
Mike BlendenProject Manager, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Craig CottenDivision 3 Water Engineer, Colorado Division of Water Resources 
Rick BasagoitiaArea Manager, Colorado Division of Parks and Wildlife
Steve Vandiver, Commission ChairGeneral Manager, Rio Grande Water Conservation District
Rio de la Vista, Commission Vice-ChairCitizen
Harold AndersonCitizen
Mike WilletCitizen
Michael GibsonCitizen

Rio Grande Natural Area Photo