The Secretary has authorized an increase in the location fee and annual maintenance fee for mining claim(s)/site(s) on Federal land. These adjustments reflect changes in the Consumer Price Index (CPI), which is published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
This final rule was published in the Federal Register (Vol. 79, No. 125) on Monday, June 30, 2014, a copy of the notice may be found at: Federal Register/Vol. 79, No. 125/Monday, June 30, 2014/Rules and Regulations, Page 36662-36665.
The new fees listed below apply to all active mining claim(s)/site(s) on Federal land and are required beginning in the 2015 assessment year:
- $37 location fee
- $155 maintenance fee
How does this affect current mining claimants?
This means the maintenance fee(s) which are due by September 1, 2014, for the upcoming 2015 assessment year have increased. The maintenance fee due for the 2015 assessment year is $155 for lode claims and mining sites, and $155 for each 20 acres or portion thereof for association placer mining claims.
How does this affect the filing of new mining claims and sites?
If the new claim(s)/site(s) are located BEFORE September 1, 2014, the cost to file is $194 ($20 processing fee, $34 location fee, $140 maintenance fee(s)). If the claim is an association placer, the maintenance fee is $140 for each 20 acres or portion thereof.
If the new claim(s)/site(s) are located on or AFTER September 1, 2014, the cost to file is $212 ($20 processing fee, $37 location fee, $155 maintenance fee(s)). If the claim is a association placer, the maintenance fee is $155 for each 20 acres or portion thereof.
Mining Claimants can now pay their annual maintenance fees online at:
2013 Affidavits of Labor/Proofs of Labor and Notices of Intent to Hold are Due on or before December 30, 2013, along with the required $10 per claim/site processing fee.
Renewed Forms Approved Through October 2016
Cost Recovery Fees for 2014
Processing Fee for New Mining Claims/Sites Increased
**Effective October 1, 2013, the processing fee when filing new mining claims or sites with the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) has increased from $15 to $20 per mining claim or site.
For each newly recorded mining claim/site filed with the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) on or after October 1, 2013, claimants will now pay a $20 Processing Fee and a $34 Location Fee, in addition to the $140 Maintenance Fee due for each 20 acres or portion thereof within the mining claim/site.
This final rule was published in the Federal Register (Vol. 78, No. 159) on Friday, August 16, 2013, a copy of the notice may be found at: Federal Register/Vol. 78, No. 159/Friday, August 16, 2013/Rules and Regulations, Page 49945-49950.
Public Information Workshops
The Mining Law department gave two free public information workshops at the Colorado State Office on July 31 and August 5, 2013. We had an estimated 40 people attend each workshop.
The power point presentation for the workshop, the Colorado Mining Claim Packet along with a Master Title Plat Legend and List of Abbreviations were distributed to each participant. In addition, we had the following handouts available: Lifecycle of A Mining Claim and Annual Filing Requirement Scenarios. The presentation is posted below for your information.
BLM Reminds Claimants to File a Notice of Intent to Hold
New Placer Mining Claim Maintenance Fees
BLM Mining Claims eForms Website