Operation of off-highway vehicles
If you are operating a vehicle on limited use areas and trails, you must conform to all terms and conditions of the applicable designation orders.
Remember, it is illegal to operate a vehicle in those areas and trails closed to off-road vehicle use or in a manner causing, or likely to cause, significant, undue damage to or disturbance of the soil, wildlife, wildlife habitat, improvements, cultural, or vegetative resources so Stay the Trail Colorado!
All vehicles must meet State laws and regulations relating to use, standards, registration, operation, and inspection. This includes; lighted headlights and taillights during night hours (a half-hour after sunset to a half-hour before sunrise), a properly installed spark arrester and muffler, and brakes in good working condition.
You cannot operate a vehicle in a reckless, careless, or negligent manner; this includes operating an OHV while carrying any person or riding in any position that will interfere with the operation or control of the OHV or view of the operator or in excess of established speed limits.
Except in limited situations you cannot operate an OHV on public streets, roads, or highways in Colorado and you must yield to pedestrians, saddle horses, pack trains, or animal-drawn vehicles.
Remember, even while off-road, you cannot operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, narcotics or dangerous drugs.
Age and license requirements
No person under the age of 10 years old may operate an OHV. People older than 10 years old must:
1. Possess a valid driver’s license issued by the State of Colorado or another state; or
2. Be accompanied by, and under the immediate supervision of, a person who possess a valid driver’s license issued by the State of Colorado or another state. The phrase “under immediate supervision” shall mean that, at a minimum, the unlicensed operator is within direct visual contact of the licensed supervisor.