CHAPTER 1

Mining Laws

Mining Districts

1-1 When gold was discovered at Sutter’s
Mill in California in 1849 no provisions had
been made by the Congress of the United States
for the disposition of minerals on the public
domain of the West. After a feeble attempt at
leasing, the copper and iron deposits of the
Great Lakes region as well as the lead deposits
of Missouri were sold outright to the highest
bidder with minimum prices set from $2.50 to
$5.00 per acre. Consequently, the prospectors
and miners of California formed mining dis-
tricts to provide self-government and maintain
law and order. These districts could be as small
as a square mile, while others covered an area
several townships in size.

1-2 The functions of a district were to provide
rules governing the size of claims, manner of
location and discovery requirements, recording
of locations, work required to hold a claim and
period of absence constituting abandonment.

The miners were not without precedents in
establishing their rules. In Europe the Ger-
manic or Prussian laws provided for the
discovery and location of mineral deposits with
royalties going to the crown and the surface
owner. The discoverer received a larger claim
than subsequent locators. Periods of idleness
without cause would open the ground to reloca-
tion. A court system was provided for the
mining industry.

The Prussian law was the basis for English
law and subsequently Spanish and Mexican
law. The Mexican law provided that three
claims went to the discoverer of a vein in a new
district and two claims to the discoverer of a new
vein in an old district. Claims were 200 varas
long and up to 200 varas wide, depending on dip,
a vara being about a yard. Provision was also
made for discovery work and periodic labor.

As the first claims in California were for
placer gold, the miners were allowed a claim
about 10 feet along the stream and as far back as
the deposit ran. When lodes were discovered, the
discoverer was usually allowed two claims 100
feet long along the vein and 50 feet wide; then
others could stake one claim of this size on the
vein. The miner could follow his vein to depth,
establishing extralateral rights. Rules were
made for marking the boundaries of claims and
for recording them with the district recorder.
Miner’s courts were held to settle disputes. Thus,
American Mining Law was born.

1-3 Today, the mining districts exist in name
only. As county governments were set up
(recording districts in Alaska which has no
counties), the mining districts turned their
records over to the county recorders and left the
making and enforcement of local mining laws to
state or county governments.

Mining districts may still be formed but any
regulations that they may impose cannot be in
conflict with existing law at any level of
government. At this writing, none are known to
exist; however, many location certificate forms
call for a mining district, as well as the various
forms provided by the Bureau of Land Manage-
ment for the processing of mineral surveys and
patents.

Each state office, except Montana, maintains
a map, chart or index of mining districts
although the boundaries may be vague and
overlapping. These records are available to the
public so that they may use a district name, if
available.

If a claim is located in an area where no
district exists, it is customary to state that there
1s no organized district or that the claim is in an
unorganized mining district. There is, however,
no objection to using a commonplace name as a
district to aid in identification of the claim.
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THE GREGORY LODE, BLACKHAWK—CENTRAL CITY,
COLORADO

The first discovery of a gold vein in Colorado. (1858) Gregory, the

discoverer, was allowed two claims, 50 ft. wide and 100 ft. long;

others then staked claims 50 ft. wide and 100 ft. along the vein.

Federal Mining Laws (Title 30, United
States Code)

1-4 Act of February 27, 1865, Sec. 9 (13 Stat.
441): Recognized that the public domain was
being appropriated for mining purposes but that
such appropriation was by the law of possession
and that the paramount title to such landslayin
the United States.

1-5 Act of July 26, 1866 (14 Stat. 251):
Declared the mineral lands of the public domain
open to exploration and occupation by citizens
of the United States or those who had declared
their intentions to become citizens. It provided
for claims 200 feet in length along the vein for
each locator, with an additional claim for the
discoverer, and an association could take up to
3000 feet in length. No width was specified, only
sufficient ground for working the claim. Ex-
tralateral rights were granted inasmuch as the
vein could be followed to any depth, with all its
dips, angles and variations. The Act also

provided for obtaining patent (fee title) from the
United States. It also recognized local customs,
rules and mining districts, so far as they were
not in conflict with the laws of the United
States. This Act was repealed by the Act of May
10, 1872.

1-6 ActofJuly?9, 1%70 (16 Stat. 217;30U.S.C.
35): Provided for placer claims (not covered in
the Act of 1866) which included all deposits
except veins of quartz and other rock in place.
They were limited in size to 160 acres, either by
one person or an association of persons, subject
to entry and patent, and where on surveyed
lands required to conform to legal subdivisions.
This Act, with modification, is still in force.

1-7 Actof May 10,;1872(17 Stat.91;30U.S.C.
Ch. 2; Title 43 C.F.R.): This Act contains the
General Mining! Laws which, with
amendments, are still in force today. It provides
in detail for discovery, location, survey and
patent of both lode and placer claims; also mill
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sites. It requires annual labor, or assessment
work until patent. Tunnel sites for the discovery
of lodes are also provided for. The succeeding
pages of this manual will take up and explain
the various provisions of this Act, with ap-
propriate reference and quotations from the
Code of Federal Regulations or the U.S. Code, if
not covered in the C.F.R.

1-8 Act of March 3, 1872 (30 U. S.C. 71-90):
Provided for the location and purchase of coal;
not a mineral subject to the general mining
laws. This Act was repealed by the Mineral
Leasing Act of 1920.

1-9 Act of May 17, 1884 (30 U.S.C. 49a-49f):
Extended the general mining laws to Alaska.

1-10 Act of August 4, 1892 (30 U.S.C. 161):
Included building stone under the mining laws
subject to the provisions governing placer
mining claims.

1-11 ActofFebruary 11,1897 (29 Stat. 526, 30
U.S.C. 101): Specifically included petroleum or
other mineral oils as a mineral under the
general mining laws subject to the provisions
governing placer mining claims. This Act was
repealed by the Mineral Leasing Act of 1920.

1-12 Act of January 31, 1901 (30 U.S.C. 162):
Included salt in any form under the general
mining laws subject to the provisions governing
placer mining claims, limited to one claim per
person. This Act was repealed by the Mineral
Leasing Act of 1920.

1-13 Act of April 28,1904 (30 U.S.C. 34): The
monuments on the ground shall constitute the
highest authority as to which lands are
patented notwithstanding a conflict with the
survey record or the calls and descriptions
recited in the patent. Also, in extending the
public land surveys, all patented mineral claims
shall be segregated from the public lands as
they are monumented on the ground.

1-14 Act of February 25, 1920 (30 U.S.C.
Chapter 3A): The Mineral Leasing Act removed
deposits of oil, gas, coal, potassium, sodium,
phosphate, oil shale, native asphalt, solid and
semi-solid bitumen and bituminous rock, in-
cluding oil impregnated rock or sands, and
sulphur in Louisiana and New Mexico from the
general mining laws and other laws and setup a
system of leasing for these minerals.

1-15 Act of July 31, 1947 (61 Stat. 681): The
Materials Act authorized the sale of mineral
materials if the disposal of such materials was
not otherwise expressly authorized by law.

1-16 Act of August 13, 1954 (30 U.S.C:. 521):
Provided for multiple development of mineral
deposits under the mining and mineral leasing
laws. All mining claims and mill sites located
after this date, and those prior to this date that
did not preserve their rights, do not include
leasable minerals, such minerals being subject
to exploration and development under the
Mineral Leasing Act.

1-17 Act of July 23, 1955 (30 U.S.C. 601):
Removed common varieties of sand, stone,
gravel, pumice (except block pumice), pumicite
or cinders from appropriation under the general
mining laws. Also restricted the use of the
surface of unpatented mining claims to that
portion necessary for the development and
mining of the deposit and permitted the federal
government to manage the surface and
vegetative resources.

1-18 Act of August 11, 1955 (30 U.S.C.
Chapter 16): All lands previously withdrawn for
power sites, except those actually in use or being
constructed upon, were restored to mining
locations subject to future use for power develop-
ment under the authority of the United States,
without reimbursement, and subject to
provisions for recording the location within 60
days from date of location and assessment work
within 60 days of the expiration of the assess-
ment year.

1-19 Act of March 18, 1960 (30 U.S.C. 42):
Provided for the location of mill sites in
conjunction with placer claims subject to the
same requirements of survey as placers. This
allowed location of mill sites by legal sub-
divisions.

1-20 Act of September 28, 1962 (76 Stat. 652):
Provides for free use of petrified wood.

1-21 Act of December 24, 1970 (30 U.S.C.
Chapter 23): This act provides for geothermal
steam leases and should the lease be terminated,
the lessee has the right to complete the location
of mining claims for minerals subject to location
which would constitute a byproduct if commer-
cial production of steam continued. Conversion
to a lease under the Mineral Leasing Act for
lease mineérals is provided for if the lease
minerals are capable of being produced in
commercial quantities.

1-22 Act of October 21, 1976 (43 U.S.C.1744;
43 C.F.R. 3833): All unpatented mining claims,
including lodes, placers, mill sites and tunnel
sites located prior to this date must be recorded
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with the proper state office of the Bureau of
Land Management by filing a copy of the record
of the location (or last amended) notice or
certificate, as required by state law, together
with a map showing the claim and its relation to
the public land survey or protracted grid, by
October 21, 1979; and also provide evidence of
assessment work for the preceding assessment
year, or notice of intention to hold, and
thereafter prior to December 31 of each calendar
year. Claims located after October 21, 1976 shall
be recorded within 90 days of date of location
and evidence of assessment work or notice of
intention to hold, if assessment work is not
required, filed prior to December 31 of each
calendar year after the year of location. Change
in ownership must also be recorded and
(presumably) amended location certificates. If
these recording requirements are not met, the
claims are deemed to be abandoned.

1-23 Reservations, Grants, Withdrawals
and Severance of Minerals: Indian and military
reservations, national parks and monuments
are not, as a rule, open to mineral exploration
except in special instances cited in 1-24 below.
National forests are open to mineral explora-
tion, location and patent, but subject to rules
and regulations of the Forest Service. National
Forest Wilderness Areas are covered in 1-24
below.

Grants include the Spanish Land Grants,
Railroad Grants, and School Grants (School
Sections), most of which included the minerals.

At least one Spanish Land Grant, The Sangre
de Christo Grant comprising Costilla County,
Colorado, has its own system of mineral sur-
veys.

Arizona has its own rules for locating mining
claims on state (school) lands. Indemnity grants
were made in lieu of other lands previously
appropriated, including unsurveyed school
sections appropriated in part under the mining
laws.

The Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act of
December 18, 1971 granted certain lands to the
natives in Alaska and allowed owners of claims
located prior to August 31, 1971 five years to
proceed to patent. Regulations permitted filing
an application for mineral survey to be con-
sidered an application for patent.

Withdrawals made under the authority of
the President are not subject to any form of
location. Withdrawals under the Act of June 25,
1910 (43 U.S.C. 141, as amended) are subject to

location for metal-liferous minerals only. The
Act, known as the Pi¢ckett Act, authorized the
President to make withdrawals for various
purposes such as power, irrigation, classifica-
tion of lands.

Withdrawals under the first form Reclama-
tion Act of June 17, 1902 are not subject to
mining location unless opened under the Act of
April 23, 1932. Lands withdrawn under the
second form of the Act are subject to location.

The Federal Land Policy and Management
Act of October 21, 1976(43U.S.C. 1714) provides
for withdrawals by the Secretary of the Interior,
either on his own motipn or at therequest of any
department or agency head, with certain restric-
tions-and limitations. Each withdrawal and
subsequent restoration must be reviewed to
determine if mining locations are allowed, and
under what conditions.

Severence occurs when minerals are reserved
to the United States in a patent. Some of the
Spanish Land Grants reserved certain minerals
such as gold, silver, quicksilver and antimony.

The Act of March 3, 1891 reserved minerals
from townsite entries on mineral land, but each
patent should be checked; some of the early
patents reserved only “known lodes.”

The Act of July 17, 1914 permitted
agricultural entry or purchase of lands
withdrawn for phosphate, nitrate, potash, oil,
gas or asphalt with a reservation of these
minerals to the United States.

The Act of July 20, 1956 permitted the
disposition of these minerals discovered and
located prior to the Mineral Leasing Act.

The Stockraising Homestead Act of December
29, 1916 allowed entry of 320 acres rather than
the 160 acre preempti(fm homestead, but reserv-
ed the minerals to the United States, the
minerals being subject to disposal under the
general mining and mineral leasing laws. The
surface owner is protected by the Act, and a
bond must be posted with the Bureau of Land
Management unless satisfactory arrangements
can be made between the mineral and surface
owner (43 C.F.R. 3814).

Lands patented under the Color of Title Act
(43 U.S.C. 1068), by exchange under the Taylor
Grazing Act (43 U.S.C. 315g) and by Forest
Exchanges (16 U.S.C. 485) with mineral reserva-
tion to the United States, are subject to ap-
propriation under the mining and mineral
leasing laws.
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The Atomic Energy Act of August 1, 1946
reserved fissionable source material, uranium
and thorium, to the United States, but these
provisions have since been rescinded and such
minerals are locatable under the mining laws.
Mining claims for fissionable source materials
could be located on lands known to be valuable
for coal under the Act of August 11, 1955 (30
U.S.C. 541 through 541i) which expired August
11, 1975.

1-24 Areas Subject to Special Mining Laws:

O&C Lands: The Act of April 8, 1948 (62
Stat. 162) reopened the revested Oregon and
California Railroad and Reconveyed Coos Bay
Wagon Road Grant Lands to exploration,
location, entry and disposition under the United
States Mining Laws, but imposed additional
requirements regarding the filing of location
certificates, affidavits of annual labor, use of
timber, etec. See 43 C.F.R. 3821 for details.

Alaska Public Sale Act of August 30, 1949 (48
U.S.C. 364a-364e) segregated for classification
and sale certain lands, but reserved the
minerals for disposition under applicable law.
Provided compensation to the surface owner for
damage. See 43 C.F.R. 3822.

National Forest Wilderness Areas are open to
prospecting and mining under existing laws
until midnight, December 31, 1983 by which
time they shall be closed except for valid
existing rights. Patents will be for mineral only
with title to the surface reserved to the United
States, subject to certain use to facilitate
mining. See 43 C.F.R. 3823.

City of Prescott, Arizona Watershed: The Act
of January 19, 1933 (16 U.S.C. 482a) restricted
future mining locations to minerals only with
restricted use of the surface. See C.F.R. 3824.

Papago Indian Reservation, Arizona: The Act
of June 18,1934 (25 U.S.C. 461-479) as amended,
restores from temporary withdrawal mineral
location and entry under the United States
Mining Laws, but imposes additional re-
quirements for recording locations with the
superintendent of the reservation, payment of
annual rental to the tribe and a fee in lieu of the
annual rental at time of patent. See 43 C.F.R.
3825.

National Park Service Areas: National parks
and national monuments are, as a general rule,
closed to mining, but there, are exceptions,
subject to special rules, regulations, and reser-
vations in the patent. These special areas are:

Mt. McKinley National Park, Alaska (see 43
CF.R. 3826.1); Olympic National Park,
Washington (see 43 C.F.R. 3826.2); Death Valley
National Monument, California (see 43 C.F.R.
3826.3); Glacier Bay National Monument
Alaska (see 43 C.F.R. 3826.4); Organ Pipe
Cactus National Monument, Arizona (see 43
C.F.R. 3826.5). The Act of September 28, 1976 (90
Stat. 1342, 16 U.S.C. 1901) prohibits further
mining locations in these national parks and
monuments.

King Range National Conservation Area,
California: Mining claims are not prohibited,
but those located after October 21, 1970 are
subject to strict regulations and inspection of all
mining activity (see 43 C.F.R. 3827).

1-25 Acquired Lands: Minerals on acquired
lands are not generally open to mineral entry.
These minerals are possibly subject to leasing
only (see 43 C.F.R. 3500).

1-26 Update: In order that mineral sur-
veyors may keep abreast of new laws it is
desirable that the Office of Chief, Division of
Cadastral Survey, Washington, D.C. keep the
mineral surveyors advised, furnishing copies of
the Acts and pertinent regulations, so far asitis
practicable to do so. Mineral surveyors may also
keep abreast of new legislation through thelocal
offices of the BLM, their congressmen and by
becoming members of local mining associations
and attending their meetings.

State Mining Laws

1-27 Both the Acts of 1866 and 1872 provided
for recognition of “local customs or rules of
miners in the several mining districts so far as
the same are applicable and not inconsistent
with the laws of the United States.”

(R.S. 2319, 30 U.S.C. 22). C.F.R. 3831.1 states
in part “(c) complying with the State Laws,
regarding the recording of the location in the
county recorder’s office, discovery work, etc. As
supplemental to the United States mining laws
there are State statutes relative to location,
manner of recording of mining claims, etc., in
the State, which should also be observed in the
location of mining claims.”

43 C.F.R. 3841.4-2 states in part: ... 600
feet in width, but whether surface ground of that
width can be taken depends upon the local
regulations of State or Territorial laws in force

..” and 43 C.F.R. 3841.4-6 “the location
notice must be filed for record in all respects as
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required by the State or Territorial laws, and
local rules and regulations if there be any.”

Requirements of State law as to mining
locations must be complied with if they are not
repugnant to the United States mining laws.
South Dakota v. Madill, 53 I.D. 195 (1930).

It is very clear that State laws must be
complied with and some states go so far as to
state that if the essentials of discovery and
location are not complied with, the claim shall
be null and void. Also, location certificates that
do not contain the information set forth in the
law, including an adequate description, shall be
void.

The mineral surveyors cannot ignore state
law, yet there are areas where they should not
force the claimant to comply, such as failure to
do the necessary discovery work as long as a
discovery point has been designated. In such
cases the claimant should be advised of the
apparent discrepancy. At his insistence, the
survey should be executed and processed to
show the facts and conditions as they exist,
leaving the matter to adjudication during
patent proceedings. On the other hand, an
inadequate description in the location cer-
tificate is justification for requiring an amended
certificate.

Each mineral surveyor should obtain a copy
of the state mining laws as soon as possible after
receiving an order for survey in that state. The
Chief, Branch of Cadastral Survey of each state
office should have an up-to-date copy of the laws
for his state, and advise the Chief, Division of
Cadastral Survey at Washington, D.C. of
changes as they occur so that he may keep all
mineral surveyors advised.

Copies of state laws, in pamphlet form, are
usually available from the State Bureau of
Mines or Geological Survey, the Secretary of
State or Attorney General.

Do not confuse state laws pertaining to the
location of mining claims on the public domain
with state laws covering the location of state
lands. Arizona, for instance, allows the staking
of mining claims on state lands and publishes
rules and regulations governing such ap-
propriation. Most states, however, lease their
minerals.

Following is an abstract of the state laws in
force so that mineral surveyors and cadastral
surveyors will have an immediate source of
information. The abstract is by no means

complete, but contains only the essentials, and
is not a substitute for the laws themselves.

1-28 ALASKA [}

: 4
Lode Claims:

Location notice containing name of claim, name
of locator(s), date of location and approximate
bearings and distances between corners shall be
posted at the northeast corner of the claim.
Substantial monuments of stone or posts not
less than three feet high and three inches in
diameter, marked with name of claim, position
or corner number and direction of boundary
lines to be erected at each corner; witness
corners shall be marked to indicate position of
true corner. Cut out, blaze or mark boundary
lines.

Location Certificate: ' Record in recording dis-
trict (Alaska does not have counties) within 90
days of posting, containing in addition to
information contained in the location notice,
length and width of claim and reference to a
natural object or permanent monument. (Late
filing prior to intervening rights renews the
location.)

Placer Claims:

Location notice containing same information as

lodes, except giving length and width rather

than metes and bounds, to be posted on one of

the corners.

Monumentation: same as for lodes.

Location Certificate and recording: same as for

lodes.

Restrictions on precious metal placers are:

1. Individual claims limited to 20 acres and

1320 feet, aggregate length.

2. Association claims limited to 40 acres and
2640 feet in length.

3. Location by agent to be supported by record-
-ed power of attorney, limited to two prin-
cipals per agent in any recording district.

4. Annual labor of $100 for each 20 acres or
excess fraction reqpired.

Other:

Amended locations, niotices and certificates are
provided for.

Annual Labor: Requirements same as federal
law, except for precious metal placers, but in
conflict with the Act of October 21, 1976
regarding failure to file.

Discovery Work: None required.
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1-29 ARIZONA

Lode, Placer and Mill Site Claims:

Location notice: Containing name of claim;
name and address of locator(s); date of location;
length and width of claim and distance from the
location monument to each end of the claim, in
feet; the general course of the claim; a reference
to some natural object or permanent monument;
the section, township and range, if known, shall
be posted on a conspicuous monument of stones
not less than three feet in height, or a post at
least four feet above ground, at one corner
within the boundaries of the claim.

Monumentation: Within 90 days erect six
substantial posts projecting at least 4 ft. above
ground or substantial stone monuments at least
3 ft. high, one at each corner and one at the
center of each end line of a lode, marked to
identify the corner or end center; posts may be
of any material readily distinguished as
monuments and shall be no less than 1% inches
in cross section.

Location Work: None
September 3, 1978.

Recording: Within 90 days record in the office
of the County Recorder a copy of the location
notice containing the section, township and
range (protracted, if unsurveyed), to which has
been attached a map based upon a survey
commensurate with the ability of thelocator,no
more than 8% by 14 inches in size at a scale of
one inch equals not more than 2000 feet,
containing:

required after

1. The name of the claim.

2. Whether the claim is a lode, placer or mill site.

3. The locality, giving the section, township

and range with tie to a monument of the

public survey, or if unsurveyed to a survey

monument of a U.S. Government Agency or

U.S. Mineral Monument, or, if none can be

found, to a prominent natural object or

permanent monument.

The scale of the map.

. The county in which the claim is situated.

. A north arrow.

. The type of corner and location monuments
used.

. Bearing and distance between corners.

. If a placer or mill site described by legal
subdivisions, the map shall give the legal
description instead of items 3 and 8 above.

NS N

© o

Other:

Abandonment: Failure to perform all the acts
of location within the specified time constitutes
abandonment.

Annual Assessment Work: Same as Federal,
with form of affidavit given, to be recorded by
December 31 of the assessment year.

Relocation, by owner and of abandoned claims,
provided for, using the map instead of location
work. '

Existing claims: Owner may file map by
October 21, 1980 which shall constitute a
rebuttable presumption that the claim was
monumented on the ground so that its bound-
aries could‘readily be traced.

1-30 ARKANSAS
No state laws.

1-31 CALIFORNIA

Lode Claims:

Location notice containing name of claim, name
and current mailing or residence address of the
locator(s), length claimed along the course of the
vein each way from the point of discovery and
width claimed on each side of the center of the
claim, in feet, general course of vein, date of
location (being date of posting) and reference to
a natural object or permanent monument, shall
be posted in or on a substantial monument at the
point of discovery.

Monumentation: Conspicuous and substan-
tial monuments consisting of a wooden post or
stone structure not less than three and one-half
inches diameter, or metal post not less than two
inches diameter, set at least one foot in the
ground and projecting at least three feet above
ground, or stone mound at least three feet high,
with sufficient marks to designate the corner
and name of claim, shall be erected at each
corner and center of each end line within 60 days
from date of location. Witness corners provided
for.

Recording: Within 90 days of posting, record a
true copy of the location notice with the county
recorder with a statement by the locator of the
monumentation and markings together with
the section, township, range and meridian.

Placer Claims:

Location notice same as for lodes except for
description which shall be the number of feet or



8 MINERAL SURVEY PROCEDURES GUIDE

acreage claimed with a description referenced to
some natural object or permanent monument,
posted on a substantial monument at the point
of discovery.

Monumentation: Mark the boundaries and
erect at each corner a substantial monument as
specified for lodes, except where described by
legal subdivisions, such description being
deemed the equivalent of marking. (No time
limit given, other than the 90 days for record-
ing.)

Recording: same as for lodes.

Tunnel Right:

Location notice: Same as for lodes except for
description which shall be the proposed course
of the tunnel and a description referenced to
some natural object or permanent monument,
posted on a substantial monument at the face of
the tunnel. (No name for the tunnel is called for.)

Monumentation: Same monuments as for
lodes placed along the lines of the tunnel on the
surface no more than 600 feet apart from the
face to the terminus of 3000 feet therefrom.

Recording: same as for lodes.

Mill Sites:

Location and claim boundaries marked as for
placer claims, except that location monument
may be anywhere within the claim.
Recording: same as for lodes.

Other:

Amended location and notice and relocation
provided for.

Annual Labor, remonumentation and remark-
ing of corners: Affidavit of labor as required by
federal law must be filed within 30 days of the
time limit for performance (end of assessment
year) and, in addition to the usual statements
and descriptions, a statement that all corners
and notices are in place and are properly
marked; an additional 30 days is allowed for a
supplemental affidavit if the original was filed
by someone other than the owner. Failure in
such case constitutes prima facie presumption
of abandonment.

Survey and monumentation by a United States
Mineral Surveyor or land surveyor licensed in
California together with filing of field notes for
record with the location notice, constitutes
prima facie evidence of the facts therein.
Penalties are provided for false statements and
removal or destruction of monuments.

Location (Discovery) Work: None required
(law amended in 1965 for placers, 1972 for lodes),
except in the case of a tunnel right.

Survey of Location: United States Mineral
Surveyors are permitted to make and record
location surveys.

1-32 COLORADO

Lode Claims:

Location notice or plain sign to be posted at the
point of discovery on the surface containing
name of the lode (claim), name of locator(s), and
date of discovery.

Discovery (Location) Work in the form of a shaft
ten feet deep or deeper if necessary for discovery,
or open cut, crosscut or tunnel which cuts a lode
ten feet beneath the surface, or adit at least ten
feet in along lode from point of discovery to be
completed within 60 days from date of dis-
covery, or file a map with thelocation certificate
based on an actual ground survey (see below).

Monumentation: Surface boundaries to be
marked by six substantial posts, hewed or
marked on the sides facing the claim, set in the
ground (or in a mound of stones on bedrock) one
at each corner and one at the center of each side
line. Witness corner, suitably marked, may be
used as necessary.

Recording: Within three months from date of
discovery, file with the county recorder a
location certificate containing the name of the
lode (claim), name of locator(s), date of location,
the number of lineal feet claimed on each side of
discovery shaft (similar working as provided
above, or discovery point), the general course of
the lode and such description as shall identify
the claim with reasonable certainty.

Field Survey and Map: In lieu of a discovery
shaft (or similar working) and within the time
required for filing the location certificate, attach
to the location certificate for recording a map at
a scale of 1”7 = 500’ prepared from an actual
ground survey showing the name and address of
the discoverer of the claim, the legal subdivision
upon which the claim is located if on surveyed
land, courses and distances of the boundaries
with tie to the nearest section or quarter section
corner or permanent monument if on un-
surveyed land, thus readily identifying the
claim.

Placer Claim:

Location notice or sign same as lode but also
giving number of acres or feet claimed.
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Discovery (Location) Work: None.

Monumentation: At each angle point (corner)
of claim, substantial posts as called for under
lodes.

Recording: Within 30 days from date of dis-
covery file with county recorder, containing
name of claim, name of locator(s), date of
location, number of acres or feet claimed and
description referenced to natural object or
permanent monument.

Mill Sites: Mill sites are simply auxiliary to
the working of mineral claims and the location
for a mill site should be made in substantially
the same manner as that of a lode or placer
claim. There must be satisfactory proof that
land claimed as a mill site is not mineral in
character. No assessment work is required on
mill sites but without patent they can only be
held by using them for the purposes for which
they were located.

Tunnel Claim: Record, specifying the place
of commencement and termination with names
of interested parties.

Other:

Relocation (Amended and Additional) by
owner, and relocation of abandoned claims
provided for.

Annual Labor: As required by federal law,
affidavit may be filed within six months of the
end of the assessment year.

1-33 FLORIDA
No state laws.

1-34 IDAHO

All mining claim locations:

Location notice to be posted at one corner of the
claim containing name of locator(s), name of
claim (whether lode or placer), date of location,
mining district and county, directions and
distances which describe claim and tie from
corner where notice was posted to natural object
or permanent monument as will fix and describe
the site of the claim.

Substantial monuments or posts at least four
feet in height and four inches square or in
diameter, marked with the name of the claim,
the position or number of the corner and
direction of boundary lines shall be placed at
each corner or angle. The boundary lines shall
be marked so they can be readily traced.
Provisions for witness corners marked to
indicate true position.

Recording: Within 90 days file for record a
copy of the location notice with the county
recorder; failure to do so constitutes abandon-
ment. Attached to notice must be an affidavit of
one of the locators stating he is a citizen of the
United States (or declared intention to become
one), he is familiar with the ground, that it has
not been previously located but if located,
abandoned or defective.

Other:

Annual labor same as federal, affidavit required
60 days after end of assessment year; except
patent survey with affidavit, including cost, by
U.S. Mineral Surveyor may, if sufficient, be used
for one year’s work.

Discovery or Location Work: None required;
law amended in 1970.

Additional Certificate (amended location) and
Location of Abandoned Claims provided for.

1-35 LOUISIANA
No state law.

1-36 MISSISSIPPI
No state law.

1-37 MONTANA

Lode and Placer Claims:

Location notice containing name of claim, name
of locator(s), date of location (posting) and
dimensions of area shall be posted at the point of
discovery.

Monumentation: Within 30 days monument
each corner or angle of the claim using a tree
eight or mare inches in diameter, blazed on four
sides, a post four inches square, four feet six
inches long, set one foot in ground (or mound of
earth and stone four feet or more in diameter
and two feet or more high if on bedrock), a
squared stump of requisite size surrounded by
such mound, a stone at least six inches square,
18incheslong, set two-thirds in the ground, with
mound of earth and stone alongside at least four
feet in diameter, by two feet high, or a boulder at
least three feet above ground. Monument to be
marked with the name of claim and corner
number or cardinal point. Other monuments of
lesser size tp be determined acceptable by a court
in the evenﬁ of a dispute.

Recording: Within 60 days, comply with the
U.S. Mininig Laws and record a certificate of
location with the county clerk containing name
of claim and whether it is a lode or a placer,
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name of locator(s) with post office address, date
of location and description, referenced to
natural object or permanent monument and
section, township and range (projected if on
unsurveyed land); directions and distances from
discovery point, and verified before an officer
authorized to administer oaths. Within 20 days
the county clerk will furnish a copy to the
Department of State Lands at Helena, Mon-
tana.

Mill Sites:

Located same as lodes or placers but without
discovery.

Other:

Amended locations, amended certificates,
relocation by owner (but not to avoid annual
labor) and relocation of abandoned claims
provided for.

Filing of false claims prohibited; penalty of not
more than five years in state penitentiary or not
more than $5,000 fine, or both.

Recording of affidavit of annual labor as
required by federal law within 90 days after
expiration of assessment year.

Discovery work: None required, law amended
in 1971.

1-38 NEBRASKA
No state law.

1-39 NEVADA
Lode Claims:

Location notice containing name of claim, name
of locator(s) with post office address, date of
location, the general course of the vein, the
number of feet claimed each way along the
course of the vein from the point of discovery,
and the width claimed on each side of the center
of the vein, to be posted on a monument (as
described below) at the point of discovery.

Monumentation: Within 20 days from date of
posting, erect at each corner of the claim and at
the center of each side line a monument
consisting of a tree, with top removed, not less
than four inches in diameter, blazed and
marked, a rock in place with smaller stones on
top having an overall height of no less than
three feet, a stone no less than six inches in
diameter, 18 inches long, set two-thirds in the
top of a mound of earth or stone four feet
diameter, two and one-half feet high; a post four
inches in diameter, four and one-half feet long

set one foot in ground (except on bedrock). All
trees, posts or rocks, when not four feet in
diameter shall be surrounded by a mound of
earth or stone four feet in diameter, two and one-
half feet high. Witness corners are provided for.
Recording: Within 90 days of posting, record
duplicate location certificates with the county
recorder containing name of the lode or vein
(claim), name of locator(s) with post office
address, general course of the vein and number
of feet claimed each way from the point of
discovery together with the width on each side
of the center of the vein, statement thatlocation
work consisted of making maps, and the
location and description of each corner with the
markings thereon.

Maps: Within 90 days of posting, file duplicate
maps with the county recorder (one of which will
be sent to the county surveyor along with the
duplicate location certificate) showing the claim
or claims, at a scale no less than 500 feet to an
inch, the relative position and number of the
corners and giving a tie by bearing and distance
to a corner of the public land survey or claim
location marker if no corner can be found, or if
on unsurveyed land. Claim location marker
shall be of rock, four feet in diameter at base and
at least four feet high, or a steel post or pipe at
least three inches in diameter and five feet
above ground. Also show the township and
range, and if surveyed, the section in which the
claim and claim location marker is situated.

Placer Claims:

Location notice: Same as for lodes except that
instead of discovery point, a location point
anywhere on the north boundary, and instead of
length and width from discovery point and vein,
the number of feet or acres claimed.
Monumentation: All corners and location
point with monuments as specified for lodes,
except when described by legal subdivisions,
only the location point need be monumented.
Recording: Same as for lodes, except giving
number of feet or acres claimed in lieu of lode
description. (Apparently no statement regard-
ing map or corner descriptions necessary.)
Maps: Same as for lodes, but if described by
legal subdivisions, map shall show the legal
subs.

Mill Sites:

Location notice: Same as for placers except
point of posting not designated; name of lode,
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mine or mill of which locator is owner to be
given.

Monumentation: Same as for placers (and
lodes) so far as applicable.

Recording: Within 30 days file for record with
the county recorder duplicate -certificates
similar in all respects to the notice posted.
Maps: Two copies of a map, not exceeding
three by four feet in size to be filed for record
with the location certificates.

Tunnel Rights:

Location notice to be posted at the face or point
of commencement containing the name of the
locator(s) and post office address, proposed
course or direction of tunnel, height and width
thereof, position and character of boundary
monuments and reference to natural object or
permanent monument.

Monumentation: Line of tunnel to be staked at
intervals of not more than 300 feet from
commencement to 3000 feet therefrom;
monuments to be the same as for lodes and
placers.

Recording: Within 60 days record with county
recorder (duplicate certificates) similar in all
respects to notice posted.

Maps: File for record, with location certificate,
two copies of a map as required for lodes.

Other:

Amended locations and certificates and reloca-
tion of abandoned claims are provided for.
Affidavits of annual labor are provided for; to be
recorded 60 days from completion of work.
Discovery or Location Work: None required,
other than the map (law amended in 1971).
False information willfully made on location
certificates or maps a felony punishable by no
less than three nor more than ten years in the
state prison.

Survey with field notes and certificate of survey
incorporated into the record by U.S. Mineral
Surveyor or land surveyor licensed in Nevada,
prima facie evidence of the facts therein.
Location Survey: United States Mineral Sur-
veyors are permitted to make location surveys.

1-40 NEW MEXICO
Lode Claims:

Location Notice containing name of locator(s),
intent to locate the mining claim, (name of
claim) and description by reference to natural
object or permanent monument (date).

Monumentation: Mark the location on the
ground so that its boundaries may be readily
traced. Four substantial posts or monuments,
one at each corner. No specifications.

Discovery Work: A shaft, cut, tunnel or adit at
least ten feet below surface disclosing mineral in
place completed within 90 days of taking
possession; or a drill hole not less than one and
one-half inches in diameter, ten feet or more in
depth, disclosing a valuable mineral deposit in
place. A substantial post or marker at least
thirty inches high inscribed with the name of
claim, claim owner, depth of hole and date
drilled shall be placed within five feet of the
hole. In addition, an affidavit by the owner
giving the date of the hole, location within the
claim, and mineral discovered shall be recorded
in the office of the county clerk within the 90
days.

Recording: File for record a copy of the
location notice with the county clerk within
three months from date of posting.

Placer Claims:

Location notice shall be posted at one corner
stating name of claim, material located, name of
locator(s), and description by legal subdivisions
or metes and bounds with tie to natural object or
permanent monument, if on unsurveyed lands.
Monumentation: A substantial wood post,
four feet high, set securely in the ground; or a
substantial stone monument, shall be set at
each corner of the claim, regardless of whether
the claim is on surveyed or unsurveyed lands.
Discovery Work: None required.

Recording: A copy of the location notice shall
be recorded with the county clerk within 90 days
of location and posting.

Other:

Additional and amended
relocations provided for.
Abandonment is provided for by filing for
record a statement with the county clerk.
Penalties are provided for falsifying location
notices and affidavits, defacing and changing
location notices, destruction of corners, hinder-
ing or preventing performance of annual labor
and trespass, except for determining perform-
ance of annual labor or locating on government
land.

Annual labor: Affidavit to be filed for record
with county clerk 60 days from end of assess-
ment year.

locations and
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Private Lands: Owners may make regulations,
not in conflict with laws of the United States or
New Mexico; governing the location of mining
claims and file for record with county clerk.

1-41 NORTH DAKOTA

Lode Claims:

Location Notice: to be posted at point of
discovery containing name of lode, name of
locator(s), date of discovery, length, in feet, each
way from discovery, and width, in feet, on each
side of lode. Width limited by state law to 150
feet on each side of lode; may be modified by
county.

Discovery Work: Shaft, cutortunnel at adepth
sufficient to disclose the vein or lode, or adit ten
feet along vein or lode, or drill hole, not less than
one and one-half inches in diameter and of
sufficient depth to reach, cut or expose vein or
lode. Work to be completed within sixty days
from time of uncovering or disclosing a lode
(posting).

Monumentation: Eight substantial posts,
hewed or blazed on the side facing the claim,
marked with the name of lode and corner, end of
lode, or side center sunk In ground or in
monument of stone.

Recording: Within sixty days file for record
with the county register of deeds a location
certificate containing, in addition to informa-
tion in location notice, the general course of the
vein, and date of location.

Placer and Other Mining Claims:

No state law.

Other:

Additional certificate and relocation, both by
owner and abandoned claims, provided for.
Annual labor: Provided for, but no affidavit.

Surface owner: May demand security from
miner.

1-42 OREGON

Lode Claims:

Location notice containing name of lode or
claim, name of locator(s), date of location, linear
feet claimed each way from point of discovery
along the vein or lode and width on each side of
the vein or lode, and the general course of the
vein or lode, defining the boundaries and
reference to natural object or permanent monu-
ment.

Monumentation: Within 30 days after posting

mark with six substantial posts, not less than
three feet above ground and not less than four
inches square or in diameter, or substantial
mounds of stone or earth and stone, one at each
corner and one at each center end.

Recording: Within 60 days from posting, file
for record with the county clerk a copy of the
location notice.

Placer Claims:

Location notice: containing name of claim,
name of locator(s), date of location, number of
feet or acres claimed, and a description by legal
subdivisions or with reference to a natural
object or permanent monument, to be posted at
some conspicuous place on the claim. ]
Monumentation: Unless located by legal sub-
divisions, corners shall be monumented with
same size materials designated for lodes, with
monuments no less than 1320 feet apart.

Recording: Same as for lodes.

Mill Sites:

Location notice same as for placer claims except
for reference to appurtenant mining claim (lode
or placer).

Monumentation: Same as for placers.
Recording: Copy of location notice to be
recorded within 30 days.

Other:
Amended notices of location provided for.

Annual labor affidavit provided for; file within
30 days of completion of work.

Legal Subdivision includes a subdivision of a
state survey.

Discovery or Location Work: None required.
Law amended in 1971.

1-43 SOUTH DAKOTA

Lode Claims:

Location notice to be posted at the place of
discovery on discovery monument, containing
name of lode, name of locator(s), date of
discovery, feet in length on each side of
discovery and feet in width on each side of lode.
Monumentation: Eight substantial posts hew-
ed or blazed on the side facing claim, one at each
corner, one at each end of thelode and one at the
center of each side line, sunk in the ground, orin
mound of stone if on bedrock, marked with the
name of the lode and the corner, end or side.

Recording: Sixty days from date of discovery
file for record with the county register of deeds a
location certificate containing the same infor-
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mation as in the location notice, except date of
location instead of date of discovery, and in
addition the general course of the vein and a
description with reference to a natural object or
permanent monument.

Placer and other mining claims:
No state law.

Other:

Additional certificate and relocation, both by
owner and abandoned claims, provided for.

Annual labor: Same as federal, affidavit
provided for, no time limit for recording.

Surface owner may demand security from
miner.

Penalties are provided for violence, threats of
violence or intimidation of mining claimants or
anyone at work on the claim by two or more
persons.

1-44 UTAH

Lode Claims:

Location notice containing the name of the
claim, name of locator(s), date of location, linear
feet claimed each way along the course of the
vein from the point of discovery, width on each
side of the center of the vein, the general course
of the vein and a description with reference to a
natural object or permanent monument.

Monumentation: Must be distinctly marked
on the ground so boundaries can be readily
traced. (Presumably at the corners, no specifica-
tion as to material and size of monuments.)
Recording: Within 30 days, a substantial copy
of the location notice must be filed for record
with the county recorder.

Placer Claims and Mill Sites:

Same as for lodes, except the location notice
shall state the number of feet or acres claimed,
instead of the length and width each way from
the point of discovery.

Other: :
Assessment Work (Annual Labor). Provides
for posting a notice describing the work at the
discovery monument and at the workings;
affidavit to be filed 30 days after completion.
Penalty provided for interfering with notices,
stakes or monuments.

Discovery or Location Work: None required.

1-45 WASHINGTON

Lode Claims:

Discovery notice to be posted at the discovery at
the time of discovery giving the name of the
lode, name of locator(s) and date of discovery.
Monumentation: Substantial posts not less
than four inches in diameter, set in the ground,
not less than three feet high, or substantial
stone monuments not less than three feet high,
bearing the name of the lode and date of location
must be set at each corner. Claim boundaries
must be brushed out, and trees blazed if such
vegetation exists.

Recording: Within 90 days from date of dis-
covery, record in the county auditor’s office a
location notice containing the name of
locator(s), date of location, feet in length each
way from discovery, general course of the lode,
and a description referenced to a natural object
or permanent monument.

Placer Claims:

Location notice or certificate to be posted in
conspicuous place at the point of discovery
containing name of claim, name of locator(s),
date of discovery and posting of notice, a
description by legal subdivisions, or a descrip-
tion with reference to a natural object or
permanent monument.

Monumentation: Within 30 days from dis-
covery, including legal subdivision placers. (No
specifications as to monuments, but see re-
quirements for lodes.)

Recording: Within 30 days from discovery
record notice or certificate of location with the
county auditor.

Development work: Within 60 days perform
labor equal to $10 for each 20 acres, and file with
the county auditor an affidavit showing per-
formance and nature and kind of work done.

Other:

Amended certificate (location) and relocation
provided for.

Assessment work (Annual Labor). Affidavit
provided for, to be filed within 30 days of the
expiration of the assessment year.

1-46 WYOMING

Lode Claims:

Location notice to be posted at the point of
discovery containing the name of the lode or
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claim, the name of the discoverer and locator,
and date of discovery.

Discovery work: A shaft ten feet deep, or cut or
tunnel ten feet long, disclosing the vein at a
depth of ten feet; or a drill hole or holes no less
than one and one-half inch in diameter,
aggregating at least 50 feet deep with no one
hole less than ten feet deep, to expose deposits of
valuable minerals. One hole shall be designated
the discovery hole and shall be marked with a
substantial post or other permanent marker
within five feet of the hole, firmly set in the
ground and at least 30 inches above ground on
which shall be placed the name of the claim, the
owner, depth of hole and date of drilling. Work to
be done within 60 days from date of discovery.

Monumentation: Boundaries to be marked by
six substantial monuments of stone or posts,
hewed or marked on the side facing the claim,
sunk in the ground, one at each corner and at the
center of each side line. Witness corners marked
to indicate true point provided for.

(NOTE: The above are prerequisite to filing a
location certificate.)

Recording: Within 60 days from date of dis-
covery record a location certificate with the
county clerk containing the name of the claim,
name of the locator(s), date of location, length
along the vein each way from the center of
discovery shaft, the amount of surface ground
claimed on either side of the discovery shaft, the
discovery shaft being always equally distant
from the side lines, and a description tied to a
natural object or if on surveyed land to a section
or quarter section corner, as shall identify the
claim beyond question.

Placer Claims:

Location notice to be posted on claim containing
name of claim, name of locator(s), date of
discovery and number of feet or acres claimed.

Discovery Work: None.

Monumentation: Substantial posts or stone
monuments to be placed at each corner of the
claim.

(NOTE: The above are prerequisite to filing a
location certificate.)

Recording: Within 90 days after date of dis-
covery record with the county clerk a location
certificate containing the name of the claim,
designating it as a placer claim, the name of
locator(s), the date of location, the number of
feet or acres claimed and a description of the

claim by designation of natural or fixed objects
as shall identify the claim beyond question.

Other:

Additional location certificate (amendment)
and relocation provided for.

Annual labor: Affidavits provided to be
recorded with the county clerk within 60 days
after completion.
Surface owners:
provided.

Penalties are provided for force or threats by two
or more persons destroying mining property,
including notices and amendments, and
defrauding, cheating or swindling, the latter
being a felony.

Security from the miner

Survey-Legal Interrelationships

1-47 The mineral surveyor and the cadastral
surveyor responsible for processing mineral
surveys must be thoroughly familiar with both
federal and state law relating to the appropria-
tion of minerals on the public domain.

The mineral surveyor may be the first detailed
contact of the claimant with a government
official, and he will look to the mineral surveyor
for guidance through the first steps to obtaining
patent, i.e., the survey, including discovery and
work requirements.

If the location does not meet the requirements
set forth in the law, the mineral surveyor may
suggest the corrective steps necessary, in-
cluding an amended location. If the location
certificate is too vague, an amended certificate
will be in order. If the development work
includes improvements that will not count as
patent expenditure or if common improvements
will not meet the tests set forth in the chapter on
mineral surveys in the Manual of Surveying
Instructions, the mineral surveyor should
discuss the matter with the claimant and
suggest corrective measures.

The matter of a valid discovery or what
constitutes sufficient mineral for patent is a
complicated matter. While the mineral surveyor
may discuss the subject in generalities, as set
forth in the next chapter, itis not his duty to rule
on it, this being a matter for the mineral
examiner and adjudicators to determine. He
may guide the claimant in properly locating and
surveying his claims for patent.

If the mineral surveyor feels that the claimant
is not justified in proceeding to patent or if he
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feels that the land is being obtained for purposes
other than mining, he may decline to make the
survey, since it is a matter of private contract.

1-48 Relationship of surveyor and attorney:
If the claimant has employed an attorney-at-
law, the surveyor and attorney should work
closely together.

The surveyor should recognize that he is not
schooled in the law and should respect the
attorney’s opinion; on legal matters it is the
attorney’s responsibility.

On the other hand, the attorney is not
schooled in surveying and the surveyor should
guide him in technical matters. The surveyor
may refuse to comply with requests that are in
conflict with his requirements of survey and
that of the Bureau of Land Management.
Doubtful situations may be referred to the
Bureau of Land Management for further in-
structions.

Many attorneys are not expert in mining law
and may require guidance from the mineral
surveyor. Should the surveyor find himself in a
situation where legal advice is necessary, and
the claimant has not employed an attorney, he
should discuss the matter with the claimant and
recommend obtaining the services of a lawyer.

1-49 Extralateral Rights (Apex): Both the
Acts of 1866 and 1872 granted the right to follow
a vein downward on its dip beyond the vertical
boundaries of the claim. R.S. 2322, 30 U.S.C. 26
states in part:

“The locators of all mining
locations made on any mineral vein,
lode or ledge situated on the public
domain . . . shall have the exclusive
right of possession and en-
joyment...of all veins, lodes,
and ledges throughout their entire
depth, the top or apex of which lies
inside of such surface lines extended
downward vertically, although such
veins, lodes or ledges may so far
depart from a perpendicular in their
course downward as to extend out-
side the vertical side lines of such
surface locations. But their right to
possession to such outside parts of
such veins or ledges shall be con-
fined to such portions thereof as lie
between vertical planes drawn
downward as above described,
through the end lines of their

locations, so continued in their own
direction that such planes will in-
tersect such exterior parts of such
veins or lodes.”

Extralateral rights exist only when the end
lines are substantially parallel and then only
when the apex of the vein passes through at
least one of the end lines. )

If the vein passes through both end lines it
may be followed with all its dips and variations
beyond the side lines within the vertical planes
of the end lines (see Claim A of Figure 1).

Where the vein passes through one end line
and one side line, one end line is theoretically
moved by protraction to the point where the vein
leaves the side line, and extralateral rights
apply on the vein only to the extent of the
foreshortened claim (see Claim B of Figure 1).

Where the vein leaves the claim through both
side lines, there are no extralateral rights and
the vein may be mined only in the area
contained within the vertical boundaries of the
claim (see Claim C of Figure 1).

Two claims might be located along the strike
of the same vein in such a manner as to produce
diverging end lines as in Claims D and E of
Figure 1. In this case a portion of the vein
beneath the surface (F) belongs to neither claim
and must be appropriated by staking claims the
vertical boundaries of which will encompass the
unappropriated segment.

Where veins of two different claims unite on
the dip, the portion below the junction belongs to
the senior claim; if the veins cross, rather than
unite, the junction belongs to the senior claim.

An outcropis not an apex in the case of bedded
deposits that are tilted or outcrop on a canyon
wall. Claims located on the outcrops of bedded
deposits have no extralateral rights.

Where the vein is wider than patent, the
extralateral rights belong to the senior claim. A
claim located on the dip, though senior, loses the
vein to a junior claim properly located on the
apex. The latter issues have been the subject of
numerous lawsuits, and there have been
decisions favoring each side.

In Figure 1, Claims A, B, C, D and E were
located along the apex of a vein dipping to the
south in alphabetical order, “A” being the oldest
claim. The portions of the vein belonging to each
claim are shown by various cross-hatching.

1-50 Riparian Rights: Although not a
general rule, occasions have arisen when a
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mining claim adjoins a navigable body of water
and the shoreline or mean high water mark
becomes the boundary of the claim. In such
instances it is proper to run such a boundary as
a meander line and the field notes of the mineral
survey should state that it is a meander line of
the mean high water line and that the corners of
such line are meander corners. The situation is
well stated in Alaska United Gold Mining Co. et
al. v. Cincinnati-Alaska Mining Co. et al.,
decided April 18, 1916, 45 L..D. 330:

“The rule as to meander lines is
applicable to mining claims, and
where in the course of an official
patent survey of a mining claim
abutting upon a navigable body of
water a meander line has been run,
which follows as nearly as prac-
ticable the shore line of the water,
such shore line and not the meander
line, must be taken as the boundary
of the claim when patented accord-
ing to the plat and field notes of the
survey.”

“Where one of the boundaries of a
patented mining claim is a
navigable body of water, all ac-
cretions formed after survey and
prior to entry and patent of the tract
passed under the patent, and all
accretions that may thereafter form,
become the property of the riparian
proprietor.” '

Following is an example of a mining claim
with a meander line as a boundary taken from
Mineral Survey 2154A Alaska. While the notes
do not specifically call for meander corners, they
do state that the line follows the mean high
water mark of Cook Inlet (Figure 2). It is not
necessary to monument the intermediate angle
points along the meander line, as the example
shows.

Should one entire end of a claim be delineated
by a meander line, the end line will be protracted
parallel to the inland end line at the farthest
seaward point for the purpose of determining
extralateral rights.
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