Two people stand on a grassy hillside in the King Range Wilderness, overlooking the Pacific Ocean.
BLM
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR
BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT
Mtn. Bike Rider on the Bizz Johnson Trail King Range National Conservation Area Poppy Three Pump Jacks, Midway-Sunset Oilfield
California
BLM>California>What We Do>Wild Horses & Burros>Adoption Requirements
Print Page

Wild Horse & Burro Adoption Requirements

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Have no prior conviction for inhumane treatment of animals or for violation of the Wild Free-Roaming Horse and Burro Act
  • Have adequate feed, water and facilities to provide humane care for the number of animals requested
  • Provide a home for the adopted animal in the United States until you receive a Certificate of Title from the BLM
 

Facility Requirements

  • Minimum 400 square feet (20 x 20) for each animal
  • Fence height for ungentled animals: 
    • 4½ feet high for burros
    • 5 foot high for horses younger than 18 months
    • 6 feet high for horses over 18 months
  • Fence Material: Pipe, poles or plank at least 1½ inches thick
  • No barbed wire, large mesh, stranded or electric fence is allowed
  • Shelter: 2 sided with a roof, blocking the prevailing wind

 

Trailer Requirements

  • Stock trailers only
  • Covered roof
  • Non-skid floor
  • Swing gate
  • No Drop Ramps

Wild Horse and Burro Logo