U.S. DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR
BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT NEWS RELEASE
California State Office
|Release Date: 07/12/13|
|News Release No. CASO-13-02|
BLM Public Land Mining Claim Fees Due in September
The deadline for filing annual mining claim fees with the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) is Tuesday, September 3, 2013. All mining claimants who wish to retain mining claims on federal public lands through 2014 must pay a maintenance fee or file a maintenance fee waiver certificate on or before September 3, 2013.
Because September 1 falls on a Sunday this year, and Monday, September 2 is a holiday, the BLM will accept yearly filings through September 3.
"Unless the appropriate forms and fees are filed by the deadline, miners risk losing their claims," said Debra Marsh, BLM Adjudication Branch Chief. "The Information Access Center is available to answer questions regarding any concerns on filings and maintaining active claims."
The BLM last year issued a rule that changes the way maintenance fees for placer mining claims are assessed. The rule implements the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2012 (FY 2012 Act), which requires the BLM to collect maintenance fees for placer mining claims based on the total acreage contained in the claim, rather than by the claim.
Claimants will now pay the maintenance fee (currently $140) for every 20 acres or portion thereof, contained in the placer mining claim. For example, if a placer mining claim consists of 46 acres, the claimants will pay $420 for the maintenance fee -- $140 for each 20 – acre portion of the placer mining claim and another $140 for the remaining 6 acres.
The maintenance fee for other types of claims -- lode claims, mill sites and tunnel sites -- continues to be $140 per claim or site. At the direction of Congress, the maintenance fee has been adjusted twice since 1993 -- it was raised to $125 in 2004 and to $140 in 2009.
Each payment must be accompanied by a written list of the claim name(s) and BLM serial number(s) (CAMC numbers) for which the maintenance fee is being paid. All Maintenance Fee Waiver Certificates and maintenance fees must be filed or paid at the BLM State Office at 2800 Cottage Way, Room W-1623, Sacramento, CA 95825. Filings made by mail need to be postmarked on or before September 3, 2013.
Miners who file the 2014 Small Miner's Waiver will be required to file an Affidavit of Assessment Work (Proof of Labor) Form, including the $10 processing fee per CAMC number on or before December 30, 2013.
The Sacramento Information Access Center Public Room is open for payment and/or filings from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Cash, check or credit card can be presented to make payment either in person, by mail, or by phone. Claims for which no maintenance fee has been paid or waiver has been filed or postmarked on or before September 3 will be declared forfeited and voided.
For more information on the filing deadline, the claim fee or the Maintenance Fee Waiver Certification (a.k.a. small miner waiver), please call the BLM State Office Information Access Center Public Room at (916) 978-4400 or visit the BLM-California Public Room website at http://www.blm.gov/ca/st/en/info/iac.html.
Requests for detailed information regarding claim fees and waivers should be directed to the Information Access Center in the BLM State Office where your California claim is recorded. More information on the "Mining Claims/Sites Filing Instructions for 2014," can be found at http://www.blm.gov/ca/st/en/info/iac/miningfacts.html.
California State Office 2800 Cottage Way, Sacramento, CA 95825
|Last updated: 07-16-2013|
|USA.GOV | No Fear Act | DOI | Disclaimer | About BLM | Notices | Social Media Policy|