BLM Logo
Central California District
Release Date: 05/16/12
Contacts: David Christy , (916) 941-3146  
News Release No. CC-12-55

Carrizo Plain National Monument Advisory Council Plans June Meeting

The Bureau of Land Management's Carrizo Plain National Monument Advisory Council will meet June 30 at the Carrisa Plains Elementary School to discuss management planning for the monument.

The school is located approximately two miles northwest of Soda Lake Road on Highway 58. The public meeting will run from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. There will be a public comment period from 1 p.m. to 2 p.m. Lunch will be available for $8 or you may bring a sack lunch.
"At this meeting, monument staff will outline the process of developing the Travel Management Plan for the monument, provide updated information on continued implementation of the Resource Management Plan and accomplishments," said Johna Hurl, monument manager.

The ten-member council advises the Secretary of the Interior, through the Bureau of Land Management, on a variety of public land issues associated with public land management in the Carrizo Plain National Monument in Central California. The public may present written or verbal comments. Depending on the number of persons wishing to comment and the time available, the time allotted for individual oral comments may be limited. Individuals who plan to attend and need special assistance such as sign language interpretation or other reasonable accommodations should contact the BLM as indicated below.

Council members are:  Dale Kuhnle, Santa Margarita; Ellen Cypher, PhD, Bakersfield; Michael Khus-Zarate, Fresno; Raymond Watson, Bakersfield; Jim Patterson, Atascadero; Carl Twisselman, McKittrick; Raymond Hatch, Taft; Alice Bond-Miller, San Franciso.

For more information, contact Johna Hurl at the BLM Bakersfield Field Office, 3801 Pegasus Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308, telephone (661) 391-6093, e-mail or go to website


Central California District   5152 Hillsdale Circle      El Dorado Hills, CA 95762  

Last updated: 05-16-2012