U.S. DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR
BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT NEWS RELEASE
California State Office
|Release Date: 08/03/12|
|News Release No. CASO-1210|
Mining Claim Maintenance Fees Due Sept. 4, 2012
The deadline for filing annual mining claim fees with the Bureau of Land Management this year is Tuesday, September 4. All mining claimants who wish to hold on to mining claims on federal public lands through 2013 must pay a $140 maintenance fee or file a maintenance fee waiver certificate on or before September 4.
Because September 1 falls on a Saturday this year, and Monday, September 3 is a holiday, the BLM will accept yearly filings through September 4.
“Unless the appropriate forms are filed by the deadline, miners risk the loss of their claims,” said BLM State Director Jim Kenna. “The Information Access Center is available to answer questions regarding any concerns on filings and maintaining active claims.”
Each payment must be accompanied by a written list of the claim name and BLM serial numbers (CAMC numbers) for which the maintenance fee is being paid. All Maintenance Fee Waiver Certificates and maintenance fees must be filed or paid at the BLM State Office at 2800 Cottage Way, Rm W-1623, Sacramento, CA 95825. Filings made by mail need to be postmarked on or before September 4, 2012.
Miners who file the 2013 Small Miner's Waiver will be required to file an Affidavit of Assessment Work (Proof of Labor) Form on or before December 31.
The Sacramento Information Access Center is open for payment and/or filings from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Cash, check or credit card can be presented to make payment. Claims for which no maintenance fee has been paid or waiver has been filed or postmarked on or before September 4 will be declared forfeited and voided.
For more information on the filing deadline, the claim fee or the small miner waiver, call the BLM State Office Information Access Center at (916) 978-4400 or visit the BLM-California website at http://www.blm.gov/ca/st/en/info/iac/miningfacts.html.
This year, the BLM also issued a rule that changes the way maintenance fees for placer mining claims are assessed. The rule implements the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2012 which requires the BLM to collect maintenance fees for placer mining claims based on the total acreage contained in the claim, rather than by the claim.
Claimants will now pay the $140 maintenance fee for every 20 acres or portion thereof, contained in the claim. For example, if a placer mining claim consists of 46 acres, the claimants will pay $420 for the maintenance fee – $140 for each 20-acre portion of the claim and another $140 for the remaining 6 acres. Under the old regulations, the maintenance fee would have been $140 for the entire 46 acres.
The maintenance fee for other types of claims -- lode claims, mill sites and tunnel sites -- continues to be $140 per claim or site. At the direction of Congress, the maintenance fee has been adjusted twice since 1993– it was raised to $125 in 2004 and to $140 in 2009 - and is based on the Consumer Price Index.
For more information, visit the BLM California web page at www.blm.gov/ca.
|Last updated: 08-03-2012|
|USA.GOV | No Fear Act | DOI | Disclaimer | About BLM | Notices | Social Media Policy|