Print Page

News Release

For Release:  August 17, 2007                                                          
Contact:  Stephen Razo 951-697-5217; email: srazo@ca.blm.gov

BLM Seeks Desert District Advisory Council Nominations

The Bureau of Land Management's (BLM) California Desert District is soliciting nominations for five southern Californians to serve on its District Advisory Council for the 2008-2010 three-year term, which would begin January 1, 2008.
The five positions to be filled include one representative each for non-renewable resources, recreation interests, wildlife interests, and two public-at-large representatives. The two public-at-large, one non-renewable resources, and one recreation interests will complete their second 3-year term December 31, 2007, and are not eligible for reappointment.
Anyone can nominate qualified persons in any of these categories. Nominations must be submitted by Saturday, October 30, 2007, to the California Desert District Manager, Bureau of Land Management, California Desert District Office, 22835 Calle San Juan De Los Lagos, Moreno Valley, Calif. 92553.
Each nomination must include the name of the nominee, work and home addresses and telephone numbers, a biographical sketch including the nominees work, applicable outside interests, and public service records. The nominee also must specify the category of interest he or she is best qualified to represent and offer advice and counsel to the BLM.
All nominations must include letters of reference from represented interests, organizations or elected officials. Nominees will be evaluated based on their education, training, and knowledge of BLM, the California Desert District, and the issues involving BLM-administered public lands within southern California.
BLM also tries to balance the council geographically, recommending appointment of qualified representatives from areas throughout the California Desert District. The district covers portions of eight counties, and includes 10.7 million acres of public land in the California Desert Conservation Area and 300,000 acres of scattered parcels in San Diego, western Riverside, western San Bernardino, Orange, and Los Angeles counties.
Council members are appointed by the Secretary of the Interior, and serve without compensation except for reimbursement of travel expenditures incurred in the course of their duties. Council members serve three year terms and may be nominated for reappointment to serve a second three year term.

For more information or to request a nomination form contact Stephen Razo at 951-697-5217.


California Desert District Office – 22835 Calle San Juan de Los Lagos, Moreno Valley, CA 92553

Last updated: 08-17-2007