MINING CLAIMS/SITES FILING INSTRUCTIONS FOR 2017
DUE ON OR BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2016
WHAT MUST BE PAID OR FILED?
Pay the 2017 Maintenance Fee of $155 per lode claim, mill site, or tunnel site. For placer claims, you must pay $155 per every 20 acres or portion thereof, on or before September 1, 2016.
File a 2017 Maintenance Fee Waiver Certification , Form 3830-2 (commonly referred to as a Small Miner’s Waiver) on or before September 1, 2016. There is no charge for filing a Small Miner’s Waiver.
If you file a 2017 Small Miner’s Waiver, you must ALSO do the following:
ON OR BEFORE DECEMBER 30, 2016
For mill or tunnel sites listed on the Small Miner’s Waiver, you must file a 2016 Notice of Intent to Hold, or write on the Small Miner’s Waiver that it serves as a Notice of Intent to Hold for the mill or tunnel site listed on the waiver and include the $10 processing fee per site.
For older placer and lode claims listed on the Small Miner’s Waiver, you must file a 2016 Affidavit of Assessment Work (also known as a Proof of Labor), along with the $10 processing fee (per claim). Please note that you do not need to notarize your Assessment Form for BLM. Note: Your county recorder may require you to notarize your Assessment Form.
For placer and lode claims you list on your waiver that were located since September 1, 2015, you must file a 2016 Notice of Intent to Hold along with a $10 processing fee per claim. We can mail you a California form to do this or you can modify an Assessment Form by lining-out the title "Affidavit of Annual Assessment Work - Proof of Labor" and in its place write, "Notice of Intent to Hold - Mining Claim."
We highly recommend that you file your 2016 Affidavit of Assessment Work and/or the Notice of Intent to Hold at the same time you file your 2017 Small Miner’s Waiver. This is due by the September 1, 2016 deadline.
IMPORTANT REMINDER: For those who filed a 2016 Small Miner’s Waiver last year (by September 1, 2015), you must file your 2016 Affidavit of Assessment Work on or before December 30, 2016, regardless of whether you pay the Maintenance Fee this year for 2017.
DO I QUALIFY FOR THE 2017 SMALL MINER’S WAIVER?
You may qualify for a Small Miner’s Waiver if all owners listed on the small miner’s waiver own ten or fewer claims and/or sites nationwide. All claims, mill and tunnel sites must be listed on the Small Miner’s Waiver. The Small Miner’s Waiver must contain the original signatures of all owners, written in blue ink. If an agent signs for the owners, a notarized designation of the agent, signed by all owners, must be on file with BLM or be submitted with the waiver. An agent signing the waiver for more than one owner must list each owner’s name, address, as well as sign for each individual owner listed on the waiver (i.e., 5 claimants requires 5 signatures by the agent).
WHERE DO I FILE?
Information Access Center
Bureau of Land Management
California State Office
2800 Cottage Way, Ste. W-1623
Sacramento, CA 95825
Phone: (916) 978-4400
FILING REQUIREMENTS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE!
As an owner of mining claims, YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE for keeping yourself informed of the changes in the filing requirements and the mining laws. Congress may pass legislation affecting filing requirements and the procedures may change. It is suggested that you contact our office periodically to stay up-to-date. Visit our website at:
To check the status of mining claims, go to http://www.blm.gov/lr2000/
. If you have any questions, please contact BLM’s Information Access Center at (916) 978-4400.
The Maintenance Fee "form" is not mandatory.
The Maintenance Fee Waiver Certification "form 3830-2" is MANDATORY to have the 2017 maintenance fee waived. And as original signatures are required, BLM requests you sign the form using blue ink.
The Affidavit of Assessment Work "form" is MANDATORY for lode and placer mining claims that had a 2016 waiver filed by September 1, 2015.
COUNTY RECORDER FILING REQUIREMENTS
In addition to filing with BLM, you must file a 2016 Affidavit of Assessment Work or Notice of Intent to Hold with the County Recorder’s office by September 30th, 2016. The location of the County Recorder's office will always be in the county seat of the county in which your claim is situated.
NOTE: If you pay the 2017 MAINTENANCE FEE, for county purposes indicate on an Affidavit of Assessment Work form, or a California Notice of Intent to Hold form, that shows you have paid the 2017 Maintenance Fee to BLM and the date on which you paid it.