Hunting, recreational shooting, or "plinking" is generally permitted on public lands under the jurisdiction of the Applegate Field Office, as long as such activity is permitted within California and Nevada State laws. The discharge of fire arms is prohibited within 1/2 mile of all developed campgrounds and recreation sites. When shooting always check with the County Sheriff or State Game Warden on shooting laws that apply.
IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO KNOW THE LAWS AND REGULATIONS.
For more information on state hunting regulations please contact the following state agencies:
In California - The California Department of Fish and Game
In Nevada - Nevada Division of Wildlife
Nevada hunt unit map
Fishing and hunting regulations are subject to change. Check with Nevada Division of Wildlife for regulations (775) 423-3171.
Wilderness Study Areas (WSA) provide excellent opportunities for primitive hunting experiences. The Applegate Field Office manages nine WSA's which include the Sheldon Contiguous, Massacre Rim, Wall Canyon, South Warner Contiguous, Lava, Pit river Canyon, Timbered Crater, Tule Mountain and part of the Buffalo Hills WSA's. While many activities are allowed within WSAs, some have specific restrictions. For example, recreation vehicle use off existing travel routes is not allowed. Most primitive recreation activities are allowed and are encouraged. These include hiking and camping, backpacking, fishing and hunting, rock hounding, boating (with or without motors), horseback riding, and the use of pack animals.
The creation or construction of permanent blinds in wilderness areas and wilderness study areas is not allowed (43 CFR 6302.20(f) and IMP Handbook H-8550-1, Chapter I.B.2. and 3.). However, portable or “pop-up” blinds may be temporarily allowed for hunting, photography, wildlife observation and similar purposes for a period of fourteen (14) days if they are packed or carried in and out and do not require the disturbance or destruction of native soil, rock, or vegetation.
Portable and “pop-up” blinds must be attended or occupied at least some portion of a ten day period within the 14 day period of use. If blinds are not attended or occupied for 10 days, they will be considered unattended property and/or permanent structures and will be subject to removal by the BLM (43 CFR 8365.1-2(b)) and subject to disposition under the Federal Property and Administrative Services Act of 1949, as amended (40 U.S.C. 484(m)).
It is suggested that anyone who packs or carries a portable or “pop-up” blind into a wilderness or wilderness study area affix to the blind his or her name, address, phone number, the date the blind was placed, and the dates the blind will be unattended or unoccupied.