Catchin' the big one!
The Colorado River from Lake Mohave to Parker Dam attracts many visitors to the area. Attractions include a variety of birds and animals, Indian petroglyphs, historical sites, parks and marinas, marshes, mountain peaks and canyons. Land along the river is both publicly and privately owned. Please do not trespass on private property. Contact the manager of the particular publicly owned riverfront area you plan to visit for permission or a reservation. Some portions of public lands are fragile riparian wildlife preserves which should not be disturbed. The courteous river boater should use riverbanks specifically designated for recreational purposes.
Fishing is very good on the river and in some backwater areas. We have Striped Bass, Large and Small Mouth Bass, Channel and Flathead Catfish, Crappie, Carp and during the cooler months, you might be lucky enough to catch a Rainbow Trout!
FIND A LOCAL FISHING OR HUNTING LICENSE VENDOR NEAR YOU.
Other web sites to help with your fishing trip: Calif Dept of Fish & Game
Calif Dept of Boating and Waterways
Arizona Dept of Game & Fish
Nevada Division of Wildlife
Lake Havasu Wildlife Wildlife Refuge
Lake Havasu BLM
The local area has many launch sites. Below is a list of just a few.
Needles Marina 760-326-2197
Park Moabi (760) 326-3831
Jack Smith Park (No Phone)
Topock Marina(928) 768-2325
Special Notice to Boaters:
Operator Age Limits - Persons under the age of 16 are prohibited from operating any vessel powered by a motor of greater than 15 horsepower, except for a sailboat that does not exceed 30 feet in length or a dinghy used directly between a moored boat and the shore, or between two moored boats. The new law allows persons 12-15 years of age to operate specified motorboats of greater than 15 horsepower if supervised on board by a person at least 18 years of age.
Reckless Operation Definitions for Personal Watercraft
New law prohibits Personal Watercraft (PWC) operators from undertaking unsafe or reckless practices, including jumping another vessel's wake within 100 feet of that vessel, operating at a rate of speed and proximity to another vessel so that the other operator is required to swerve to avoid collision, and "spraying down" any person or vessel in the water.
Wearable Life Jackets Now Required for Small Boats
All recreations vessels less than 16 feet in length, including canoes and kayaks, must carry a type I, II, III, or V wearable personal flotation device for each person on board. Prior to the new law, vessels under 16 feet were allowed to carry either a throwable or a wearable personal flotation device for each person aboard. Regulations for boats 16 feet in length and over remain unchanged.