California Desert District

About the California Desert District

The mission of the California Desert District (CDD) of the Bureau of Land Management is to protect the natural, historic, recreational and economic riches of the beautiful California Desert for generations to come. California is a state wealthy with resources and natural beauty, but this beauty can quickly disappear if not properly taken care of. The California Desert District is responsible for protecting and preserving nearly 11 million acres of California’s natural heritage. 

In 1976, The United States Congress created the California Desert Conservation Area (CDCA), which covers nearly one quarter of the State. As one of the government’s primary authorities for the management of public lands, the Bureau of Land Management - through the California Desert District - acts as steward for 10.4 million acres of this 26 million acre preserve. In an effort to provide the most benefit to the most people, while preserving one of the west’s most rugged and awe inspiring landscapes, the CDD developed a balanced, multiple-use plan to act as a guide for the management of this vast expanse of land. The plan, completed in 1980 with the help of the public, divides the desert into multiple-use classes. These classes were created in order to define areas of in critical need of protection, while allowing for the use and development of less-vital swaths of desert.

In addition to the lands under the CDCA, the California Desert District also manages 300,000 acres of scattered parcels in Kern, Inyo, Los Angeles, Riverside, San Bernardino, Orange, Imperial and San Diego counties. The district is divided into five resource areas, governed by field offices in Ridgecrest, Palm Springs/South Coast, El Centro, Barstow and Needles. The CDD currently has over 200 full time employees.              

Desert District (All Five Resource Areas)
  • 85 Areas of Critical Environmental Concern
  • 72 Wilderness Areas, covering approximately 3.5 million acres
  • 15 Wilderness Study Areas
  • Santa Rosa and San Jacinto Mountains National Monument
  • Portions of California Coastal National Monument
  • Desert Tortoise Natural Area
  • 9 Watchable Wildlife Sites
  • 1 National Scenic Byway
  • 3 National Trails: Pacific Crest National Scenic Trail, Juan Batista de Anza National Historic Train and San Juan Bautista National Historic Trail.
  • 6 National Natural Landmarks
  • 10 Off-Highway Vehicle Areas
  • Regional Wild Horse and Burro Facility
  • Geothermal, Wind, and Solar Energy
  • 8 Energy Production and Utility Corridors
  • Historic Bradshaw Trail
  • 4 Long-Term Visitor Areas
  • 11 Campgrounds
  • 2 Wild and Scenic Rivers: Amaragosa and Cottonwood Creek 

District Office Hours:

8:00a.m. - 4:00p.m.   Closed on Weekends and Holidays

Maps for Sale:

Desert Access Guides - $4.00/map                                                      

There are 31 maps for Southern California.  Maps can be purchased at all Field Offices and the District Office.  All forms of payment are accepted.       

The California Desert District does not carry USGS Topographic Maps.

Bureau of Land Management
California Desert District
22835 Calle San Juan De Los Lagos
Moreno Valley, CA 92553
Phone: (951) 697-5200
Fax: (951) 697-5299
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., M-F
Contact us by Email