If you file the 2015 Small Miner's Waiver (due on or before September 1, 2014), you are certifying you will perform assessment on your mining claim in the "2015" assessment year and you will be required to do the following on or before December 30, 2015:
- For all PLACER and LODE MINING CLAIMS listed on the Waiver, you must file an Affidavit of Assessment Work, which shows the assessment work performed in 2015. For MILL SITES or TUNNEL SITES listed on the Waiver, you must file a Notice of Intent to Hold for the assessment year 2015; and
- Pay a processing fee of $10.00 per claim/site listed on your Affidavit of Assessment Work and/or the Notice of Intent to Hold. This fee must be received at the time you file your Affidavit of Assessment Work and/or the Notice of Intent to Hold on or before December 30, 2015.
- If it is the first year you are filing a waiver, you must file a Notice of Intent to Hold on or before the December 30 immediately following the filing of your waiver. EX. File the waiver for the 2015 assessment year on or before September 1, 2014, and file a Notice of Intent to Hold on or before December 30, 2014, and then file your Affidavit of Labor for the 2015 assessment year on or before December 30, 2015.
REMINDER: For those who filed a "2014 Small Miner's Waiver" by "September 1, 2013," you are required to file your 2014 Affidavit of Assessment Work for your mining claim to show you performed assessment work, or a Notice of Intent to Hold for your mill or tunnel site on or before December 30, 2014, along with a processing fee of $10.00 for each claim/site listed on your Affidavit of Assessment or Notice of Intent to Hold.
All new locations must pay $212, even if your "location date" on your form is August 31st of the current year. Claims will expire the next day if you do not turn in your yearly filings. Which means by September 1 of the current year, pay the Maintenance Fee of $155 to the Arizona State Office or turn in the Small Miners Waiver. The Notice of Intent to Hold (NOI) and $10 per mining claim/site processing fee is due to the Arizona State Office by December 30, 2014, or you may turn in the NOI earlier.
REQUIREMENTS FOR SMALL MINER'S FEE WAIVER?
You may file a Small Miner's Waiver (by September 1, 2014) if you own ten or fewer claims and/or sites throughout the assessment year nationwide and will perform $100 worth of assessment work on your claims for the upcoming assessment year (by December 30, 2015). All claims, mill sites, and tunnel sites must be listed on the Small Miner's Waiver, AND the Small Miners Waiver must contain the original signatures (preferably in Blue Ink) of all claimants/owners having an interest in the claims/sites. If an agent signs for any of the claimants/owners, a notarized designation of agent, signed by all claimants/owners must be submitted with the waiver. Additional Information can be found here.
WHERE DO YOU FILE?
Bureau of Land Management
Arizona State Office
One North Central Avenue, Suite 800
Phoenix, AZ 85004-4427
Phone: (602) 417-9528 Information Access Center
BE ALERT! FILING REQUIREMENTS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE
As an owner of mining claims, YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE for keeping yourself informed of the changes in the filing requirements and the mining laws. Congress may pass legislation affecting filing requirements and, consequently, the procedure may change. It is suggested that you view our website periodically to stay up to date. For additional information contact the Information Access Center at (602) 417-9528.
The use of the forms referred to in these Filing Instructions are optional; however, it is strongly recommended that current forms be used. NOTE: The Bureau of Land Management Waiver Form must be used, it's not optional. Use of these forms will ensure that you provide the listing of all serial numbers, claim and/or site names, the original signatures required on the filings, and all other information that is necessary for you to complete your filing. These Filing Instructions and forms have been provided to you as a courtesy.
COUNTY RECORDER FILING REQUIREMENTS
In addition to filing with the BLM, file an Affidavit of Assessment Work (Proof of Labor form) or Notice of Intent to Hold with the county recorder's office. The location of this office will always be in the County Seat of the county in which your claims are situated.