Who May Get a Permit?
Permits are issued for scientific research. They are given to people with specific qualifications that include related college education and experience. Permit holders must also have a letter from a federal or state agency-approved facility accepting collected fossils or artifacts for scientific study and public display. All collected items must be placed in the facility and cannot be kept by the collector.
What are the Penalties for Violations?
Laws protecting fossils and artifacts provide for a variety of penalties. Though some fines may be smaller, the maximum fine is $250,000 and/or up to 10 years in jail. If you see someone removing artifacts or vertebrate fossils, please contact the Alaska State Troopers or a land management agency.
Laws Protecting Artifacts and/or Fossils
Archaeological Resources Protection Act of 1979 (P.L. 96-95; 93 Stat. 721; 16 U.S.C 470)
Antiquities Act of 1906 (P.L. 59-209; 34 Stat. 225; 16 U.S.C. 431)
Federal Land Policy and Management Act. 1976 (P. L 94-579; 90 Stat. 2743; 43 U.S.C. 1701)
Theft of Government Property (62 Stat. 764; 18 U.S.C. 1361)
Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act.1990 ( P.L. 101-601; 104 Stat. 3048; 25 U.S.C. 3001)
Alaska State Statute AS 41.35